Reality Chic

5 Items for $35

Posted on: November 6, 2009

A majority of people buy houses and cars, two major items that have both most likely been USED. If when buying these items you don’t think twice about them having been used before, what’s the problem in buying used clothes?! Just like buying a house or a car as long as they are in good condition, what’s the difference? Buying your clothes at a consignment shop is a great way to get your bang for your buck and save on things a little more important in life such as New Moon tickets!

My challenge of the day was to go into a local consignment shop and find an entire outfit for $35 dollars or under.  Who honestly wouldn’t want that?! After stepping into the store, I suddenly found myself excited at the idea of this challenge and the fact that I had an excuse to shop without having my husband being disappointed that I spent another $35 dollars on clothes. This should also be known as my best idea yet, and I’d advise you to use it as well! I was determined to find not only a shirt and pant, but the whole shebang (and yes i just said shebang). Top, pant, jewelry, purse, and shoes for all under $35 dollars would be a hard thing to do. In all honestly, I actually thought I would end up writing about something else due to the fact that I wasn’t sure it could be done. To my surprise I not only found out that it could be accomplished, but that the clothes were actually cute, stylish, and in great condition. You must be thinking that the clothes are from low-end stores and are pretty basic. Wrong!

First item up: I chose a silver silk non-fitted sleeveless shirt with a built in rhinestone neck that ties in the back by F.A.N.G for a total of $9.00! It can be worn with basically any type of pant; however, it would be best as a date top or going to work shirt!

Second item: A black boot leg stretch pant that would be perfect for going to work or to a more upscale event. The pant was from The Limited for a whopping $9.00. Can’t beat it!

Third item: This item is by far my favorite of the day! A pair of Miss Me purple heeled ankle boots for $11.00!! Colored shoes can help uplift any outfit and at this price it just uplifted my day!

Fourth item: I found a purple gel beaded bangel to accent the shoes for $2.00! I don’t know what store it is originally from but any accessory for just $2.00 is worth buying.

Fifth and final item: My final purchase was a purple clutch which ties the whole outfit together. Clutches are a necessity! Who wants to carry around a purse all day? As much as I would like fanny packs to come back in style for convenience purposes they too should probably stay locked in the vault. Clutches are a great way to just throw in the items that you need and walk on out the door with out lugging around a giant bag that could fit in a small child.

There ya have it 5 items (an entire outfit) for exactly $35 dollars. Who would of thought?! I wish I could write about how it was a hard grueling task, but it wasn’t. It was easy! In fact, it was so easy that I spent another $35 dollars on a headband, blue dress, scarf, and winter coat! Shh… keep it on the down low I would like to be able to shop again in my lifetime! Anyhow, what I’m trying to tell you is that next time you’re  under a budget and need to find some clothes, go to your local consignment shop. YOU JUST MIGHT BE SURPRISED!!

3 Responses to "5 Items for $35"

Hey! This is Colin’s friend from work, we met at Quaker Steak that one time….I love your blog! It’s awesome!

And I wish that my uncle would realize that the fanny pack hasn’t been in style for years! I think he’s had it since the early 90s too!

I love this! Erin, your blog is great– and next time you’re in town we’re going shopping!

What a great entry! I’m inspired to go consignment shopping. More challenges, please!

Leave a Reply

Reality Chic: Because real people don't wear sparkle pants to Olive Garden!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Check Out My Other Posts!

Twitter @ Realitychicblog

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

